Learning the Blogging Lingo

I don’t know why I was surprised that in taking up blogging I’d have a whole new lingo to learn.  I suppose when you think about it, when you take up any new hobby there’s vocabulary lists to learn – who was born knowing how to “purl” or “psso”? – but I do admit that I have found the blogging lingo about as complicated as learning Gaelic (something else I’ve taken up).  There’s no simple place to go to read the definitions, and explanations are often filled with other technical language – I need a “how to” guide just to read the “how to” guide.  It’s a bit of a baptism of fire with blogging.  Everywhere you look there’s talk of pingbacks, blog hops and memes.  You have to tag people, choose who to follow, who’s making it onto your blogroll and which widgets to add to your sidebar.  You need to consider your SEO, your Klout, and whether you’ve made it easy for people to come back to your blog – is your RSS feed obvious and got the right settings?.  Confused?  I know I have been.

Even once you get into the swing of the blogging lingo there’s all the technical know how to get to grips with.  You read some blogs that are both well written and attractive.  How do they do that?  Where do you get the right header (pretty picture at the top), right background and clever, appropriate badges and buttons (see, more lingo…)?  What’s the right layout for your blog, where do you get pictures that you’re actually allowed to use, and what happens if you use a picture that you didn’t take yourself and that you didn’t get permission to use?  These are the things that I’m currently grappling with.  (Please feel free to dive in with any advice in the comments.)

Blogging, like all hobbies is a skill you build upon.  You don’t learn to cast on then begin a fair isle jumper – everything comes in stages.  At the start, you may think cable knitting is beyond you, but if you take the time and build up slowly, one day you will be an accomplished knitter.  One day I hope to open my blog and be satisfied with the layout, be comfortable with its performance, and confident in my own voice, but that’s not going to happen over night.  For now, I’ll just be glad I’ve got somewhere to post my random thoughts as I need to, and a community I feel I’m slowly becoming a part of.

So, for any bloggers still scratching their head at the lingo bit, I’ll tell you what I think some of it means.  If I’ve got it wrong, let me know so I can fix it.  If I’ve missed anything, let me know and hopefully someone else can answer…

Blog hop/Linky – A number of blogs on a theme/answering a question that are all linked/listed in one place for people to read – in other words, they can hop from one blog to another.  Generally, one person writes a post and invites other bloggers to do the same.  If you decide to take part you write your own post then go back to the original one to add your post to the linky list – usually found at the bottom of the post.  This lets others find the way to your fabulous blog, and you can find other like minded blogs all in one place.  There’s no obligation, but generally it’s hoped that you will read some/all the other blogs in the list.  If you’re one of the last ones on the list then you might not get as much traffic/many visits but you will have more blogs to go and explore.

Meme – It took me ages to see the difference between a blog hop and a meme (pronounced meem).  Basically, I see a meme as being like a chain letter – without the ominous warnings built in if you don’t take part.  Someone writes a post on a theme/a list of questions and then chooses some other bloggers to tag/link to and asks them to take part with their own version of the post.  They then tag some more bloggers and so it continues.  There’s usually no link back to the very first post and nowhere to find a list of all the posts.  There’s also no obligation to join in if you’re busy or it doesn’t grab you. Generally speaking, it’s nice to add in a link to a post written by the person/people you’re tagging because it adds to their ratings and can create a pingback.

Pingback – If the settings are set up to allow them, a pingback is created when you make a link from your post to another one (either your own or someone else’s).  It goes to the comments section of the post your linking to and leaves a note that you’ve done it.  They’ll like it because they know that you’ve told other bloggers about them.  You’ll like it because people can link back to you from another blog.

SEO – Search Engine Optimisation – ways to make it easier for Google etc to find you.  There are lots of ways to do this which include the way you use the words and links in your post and actually registering your website with the search engines themselves.  It’s not essential that you actually do anything for this – it depends on how much you want people to find you from Google.

RSS – This is a way for people to sign up to read your blog posts without actually having to visit your blog to see if you’ve written anything new – usually a wee orange button.  It’s not the only way for people to visit but it’s one that a lot of people like to use because it keeps all their favourite blogs in one place (eg, a Google reader) rather than having to check their blog dashboard, their emails and Twitter feed.  Like all options for following your blog, if you want people to read what you write, you need to make it easy for them to do this and this is one way to do that.

What blogging lingo have you picked up along the way?

9 responses to “Learning the Blogging Lingo

  1. Hmmm thanx for the insight.. I was going to make my first blog today but after I saw this maybe I should be reading a little more blogs first.now I feel like a fish out of water waiting for someone to quickly pull me out. So you can’t use any pictures you didn’t personally take yourself?? Hmm well now there goes my idea..help? Yeah I NEED it but thanks for the blocab lesson(blog lingo I made up 10seconds ago,*does happy dance*) haha,looking forward to more of your posts. X x

    • I can wholeheartedly recommend blogging – I’m sure you won’t regret diving in. I think we all feel a bit like a fish out of water at first, but then I felt the same the first time I drove a car yet I do it automatically now. When I started, I just wrote what I wanted to write and didn’t expect anyone to actually look at it – I didn’t even know how to find other blogs so how could anyone be expected to find mine? These bits of blocab (thanks!) are things that I started to see more of as I got more into blogging, and they only really matter if you want to get really involved. We all pick it up as we go along but I think I had to ask for an explanation of the difference between a blog hop and a meme about 6 or 7 times in a variety of places before it finally sank in – and to be frank, if you just want to write your own, original posts without any prompts, you don’t really need to know.

      As for your first post, write it today while it’s fresh on your mind. Feel free to copy and paste the link for it here and, if you’re using Twitter, shout it out there. I know you’ll love it.

      Good luck!

    • Oh, and as for pictures, I believe there are places you can get them without any worry, and I’m sure plenty of bloggers use pictures without checking for permission. If in doubt, just ask someone and they will point you in the right direction. I’m just a worry wart, lol.

  2. Really good summary. It took me a while to get used to all the vocab – still don’t understand some of it though. Completely agree with your point of view on memes. I don’t do all of them – sometimes they just don’t suit me or I feel that maybe I’ve covered too many recently.

    • I figure you can blog without knowing the lingo, but it does crop up. I like memes but they sort of spread like wildfire and you can end up tagged in hundreds. I’ve tried to save the ones I’ve been tagged in to write up randomly when I have more time.

  3. Fab post. I’m a newbie and have been bamboozelled at times! Getting there slowly though. I think this will be really helpful to other new bloggers or anyone considering it! x

  4. Thanks! I was trying to figure out the difference between a Blog Hop and a Meme. Think I’ll just stick with the Blog Hop and not worry about it!

I love comments! Please leave a reply. Please note that this website uses cookies and that by replying without changing your cookies settings you are consenting to their use.

