Dear Granny

Did you know that around 1000 women die from breast cancer every month?  One in eight women will develop breast cancer at sometime in their lifetime.   It is important to note that men also get breast cancer.  The good news is that more people are surviving breast cancer due to greater awareness, improved treatments and better screening.

Kate on Thin Ice is looking for 90 generous bloggers to write about an important woman in their life  in 90 words and to join in this blog hop.  You can write about any woman that matters to you – a grandmother, a mum, a daughter, a friend, a blogger, a boss, whoever you wish.   Posts can be as long or short as you wish.  Find out more here.

I spotted this blog hop a couple of days ago and wanted to join in, not just because it supports a great cause but because we shouldn’t pass up the chance to honour someone special in our lives.  The reason it has taken me so long to join in is that it is very difficult to decide which of the special, strong, fabulous women in my life should I pick.  My mum is an obvious choice.  A wonderful woman who is there for me without question – and generally without needing to be asked – no matter what.  I love my mum right up to the sky, as my 4 year old son would say, and she would definitely be a great person to write about.  I could also write about either or both of my sisters – strong, feisty women and great mothers, too.

In the end, the person I wanted to record here is my granny, who has now been in Heaven for longer than I knew her, but who is always in my thoughts and heart.

Dear Granny, it has been so long since I last had the chance to properly speak to you.  I wish I’d known then that our time together was so short because I’d have squeezed in so much more of you.  You were always there for all of us, with a smile and a song.  (Always a song for every occasion.  It’s a tradition that mum, my sisters and I have continued.)  You looked for the good in everyone, no matter what they’d done, and you taught me that no one is the sum total of one deed or action.  Instead, we are onions with many layers.  One, or even many, bad layers does not have to mean that we are rotten to the core.  This has kept me (and mum) strong in dark times.  Only the other day we all asked ourselves on Facebook (don’t ask!  I remember how bad you were at Mario Bros!) – “what would Granny do?”

Sometimes I feel that I can’t remember enough of you and I take out my memories to dust down like favourite photographs from a box in the attic.  I remember your spearmint chewing gum, and how we loved when you gave us an illicit half strip.  I also remember how mad it used to make dad when he discovered yet another ball of chewing gum by the kettle where you’d put it then forgot about it when having a cup of tea.  I remember the digestive and ginger snap sandwiches you’d make us with butter oozing out.  I remember the way you’d dance to the butter advert (I think) where the potato would sing in a French accent to – if I remember correctly – Love is in the Air and pretend that you, too, were shrugging off your outer layer.  I remember sleeping on your green sofa bed, and the Paddington Bear jigsaw that I could do upside down and back to front faster than anyone.  Or so you used to tell me.  As I’ve got older and had children of my own I wonder if you simply pretended to time me and let me believe I was wonderful.  You always made me feel wonderful.

I also remember your funeral.  Such a sad, confusing time and yet uplifting to see that you were loved by so, so many people in your life.  No one ever had a bad word to say about you.  If I can go through life and that is the best thing that anyone can say about me, I’ll be happy.

I wish you could have been here to see my children grow up.  I wish they could have met you.  I’ve given my daughter your name as her middle names so that a tiny part of you lives on in the stories I can tell her when she asks about her name as she grows.

I miss you, granny.  You are still dearly loved.

xxx

Granny and just some of her grandchildren

Pink Ribbon Bingo have pledged to support Breakthrough Breast Cancer all year round with 15% of the gross revenue accrued through online play on the site being donated to the charity.  Visitors also have the opportunity to donate a percentage of their winnings directly to the charity.  Along with the fundraising element, Pink Ribbon Bingo and The Daily Mail online will be helping the charity to raise awareness by promoting their vital health messages such as TLC (Touch, Look, Check).

8 responses to “Dear Granny

  1. Thanks for joining in.
    I love your words but that photograph is amazingly superb.
    Your Granny sounds like a truly inspirational woman to me. It is clear that the legacy lives on too.
    Wonderful

  2. Pingback: My Difficult Dozen | From Slummy to Yummy Mummy·

I love comments! Please leave a reply. Please note that this website uses cookies and that by replying without changing your cookies settings you are consenting to their use.

